School Improvement Team

Q:  What is the School Improvement Team?

A:  School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.   The team is comprised of the principal of each school; representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants at the school; and parents of children enrolled in the school.  The representatives are elected by their respective groups (such as the PTA/PTO for parents).  

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement and asserts that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  [NC General Statutes �115C-105.27].   Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, core values, and policy directives.   


Q:   When does the School Improvement Team meet, and may I attend the meeting?

A:  School Improvement Teams are considered public bodies and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents, and community members are always welcome to attend and observe the meetings.  Emma's School Improvement Team meetings are held in the office conference room from 7:00am - 8:00am.  Meeting dates for this school year are posted on Emma's website on the calendar and under the "Upcoming Events" section and in the School Improvement Team section of this website.


Q:  How do I communicate a suggestion for school improvement to the group?

A:  You may communicate directly with an individual on the team, come to a scheduled meeting, or send in a request to the entire committee.  Emma Elementary's School Improvement Team includes:
 
 Representative  Role  Category  e-Mail Year Elected 
 Jeremy Stowe
  Member  Principal  jeremy.stowe@bcsemail.org  Not elected
 Carla Shipman        Member  Assistant Principal  carla.shipman@bcsemail.org  Not Elected
 Debbie Hinson 
  Member  Grade K
 deborah.hinson@bcsemail.org  2015
 Shirley Young
  Chair  Grade 1
 shirley.young@bcsemail.org  2011
 Kim Dotson
  Member  Grade 2
 kim.dotson@bcsemail.org  2015
 Cara Pollard
  Member  Grade 3
 cara.pollard@bcsemail.org  2015
 Sarah Harris
  Member
 Grade 4
 sarah.beck@bcsemail.org  2014
 Leslie Tritle
  Member  Assistants  leslie.tritle@bcsemail.org  2013
 Beth Walton 
  Member  Counselor  elizabeth.walton@bcsemail.org  Not Elected
 Andrea Golden
  Member  Parents
 TBD  2017
 Anita Lovejoy
  Member  ESL  anita.lovejoy@bcsemail.org  2011
 Virginia Edwards
  Member  Special Education
 virginia.edwards@bcsemail.org  2015
 Courtney Hickman   Member  Specialists  courtney.hickman@bcsemail.org  2017
 Tonya Deweese
  Member  Title I
 tonya.deweese@bcsemail.org  Not Elected